4th ECOSOCC Permanent General Assembly


What: 4th ECOSOCC General Assembly

When: December 6th, 2022

Who: The Economic, Social and Cultural Council (ECOSOCC)

Speakers: His Excellency Moussa Faki Mahamat, Chairperson of the African Union Commission (TBC); The Honourable Dr. Alfred Nganga Mutua, Cabinet Secretary of Foreign and Diaspora Affairs, Republic of Kenya (TBC); Mr. Denise Kodhe, Outgoing ECOSOCC Presiding Officer; Mr Peter Clever, Vice-President of the Section for External Relations, EESC and Mr. William Carew, Head of Secretariat, ECOSOCC

Where: Movenpick Hotel, Nairobi, Kenya

Or Virtual via Zoom: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Y9_YEBsHTu6nYt7mFACA7Q


To constitute and inaugurate ECOSOCC’s 4th Permanent General Assembly. The General Assembly is the highest decision and policy making body of ECOSOCC composed of: Two CSOs from each African Union Member State; Ten CSOs operating at regional level and eight at continental level; and CSOs from the African Diaspora.

The ECOSOCC General Assembly has a tenure of four years. The 3rd Permanent General Assembly was constituted in December 2018.

Established under the provisions of Articles 5 and 22 of the African Union’s Constitutive Act, ECOSOCC is the vehicle for building a strong partnership between governments and all segments of African civil society. The Statute of ECOSOCC, adopted by the Heads of State and Government at the Third Ordinary Session of the Assembly in July 2004 defines it as an advisory organ of the African Union composed of different social and professional groups of the Member States of the African Union [Assembly/AU/Dec.42 (III)].

The media are invited to cover the opening ceremony at 11 a.m. EAT at Movenpick Hotel, Nairobi or join by Zoom via: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_Y9_YEBsHTu6nYt7mFACA7Q