Orientation and Induction of 2nd PGA in Cairo, Egypt

The General Assembly is the highest decision-making body of ECOSOCC and comprises 150 CSOs (civil society organizations) from member states of the African Union and the African diaspora. The General Assembly meets once every two years and is responsible for setting the policy direction of ECOSOCC.

Standing Committee

Beneath the General Assembly, there is a Standing Committee which oversees the daily operations and ensures the implementation of the policies set by the General Assembly. This committee is composed of representatives from the five regions of Africa.

Sectoral Cluster Committees

ECOSOCC is structured around several Sectoral Cluster Committees which focus on specific areas such as peace and security, social affairs and health, education, arts and culture, and economic affairs. These committees allow for targeted engagement on specific issues and enable specialized groups within civil society to contribute their expertise to the AU’s policies and programs. 

Credentials Committee

This committee is responsible for the accreditation and admission of civil society organizations into ECOSOCC. It ensures that members meet certain criteria and standards, which maintains the integrity and effectiveness of ECOSOCC.


The ECOSOCC Secretariat provides operational support, manages day-to-day activities, and coordinates between the different committees and the broader African Union framework. It is led by a Head of Secretariat who oversees its functions.

Presiding Officer

The Presiding Officer heads ECOSOCC and is supported by four deputy presiding officers (from Western, Central, Eastern and Southern Africa). They are responsible for guiding the work of ECOSOCC, representing it in engagements with other AU bodies and external stakeholders, and ensuring that it fulfills its advisory role to the AU effectively.